Portfolio management in a nutshell

A central concern among various market participants of the financial industry is the management of portfolios with financial instruments while taking into account performance-, risk- and compliance-related aspects from investment, credit or treasury.

 

How to optimise your work and resources, and attain your goals

Exceed the benchmark or achieve an above-average total return. Be it through defensive investment strategies or risky hedge fund structures, single or multi-asset strategies, top-down or bottom-up approaches - PMS offers crucial quantitative foundations for active and passive investment strategies.

The portfolio management modules integrated in the overall PMS system can be extensively combined with other modules, e.g. with functionalities of the PMS risk and compliance management, and provide various far-reaching possibilities of portfolio management.

Our PMS portfolio management solutions offer you flexible hierarchical portfolio structures, tactical and strategic asset allocations, model portfolios that include comparison options as well as cross-portfolio transactions including a global order functionality.

With regard to limit systems, PMS offers pre-trade and post-trade checks that test regulatory, contractual and internal investment limits, covering fund-related legislation in Germany (KAGB), Austria (InvFG), Luxembourg (UCITS) etc. These modules allow you to define warning thresholds and to distinguish between active/passive limit exceedances. The pre-trade check places a strong focus on compliance with auditing standards, which is reflected in comprehensive records/logs.

Investment performance measurement in accordance with GIPS plays a major role in PMS, specifically transaction-based plus holdings-based performance, time- and money-weighted return, performance contribution estimation, attribution analyses, benchmarking including results on position and portfolio level in addition to the classic profit&loss analysis including realised and unrealised profits/losses. Performance attribution can be applied to stock and bond portfolios with derivatives in accordance with authors such as Brinson, Fachler, Hood, Beebower, Campisi; it offers selection, allocation, currency and other effects after the arithmetic and geometric, active return calculation.

Additional (sub)functionalities of the PMS portfolio management: Portfolio optimisations starting with the classic Markowitz approach which serves as a basis for internal and external reporting.

The financial instruments that are supported in PMS (see flyer on instruments) range from exchange-traded plain vanilla instruments, illiquid OTC instruments, structured products, exotic derivatives and hybrid products to commodity instruments, which clearly puts PMS at a competitive advantage over comparable systems. It is possible to perform mark-to-market and mark-to-model evaluations. A multitude of graphical representations and standardised as well as customer-tailored reporting options simplify your day-to-day business.

All portfolio-related key figures that are widely known in practice but also numerous exotic and innovative key figures obtained from professional sources are integrated in the PMS software system with the objective of creating a condensed statement about capital investments under risk and return aspects. The financial key figures can be grouped as follows: Risk-adjusted performance key figures, benchmarking, key figures from return distributions and regression analyses, ex-post versus ex-ante figures, downside risk and drawdown figures. A few examples: Duration, Basis Point Value, Information Ratio, Treynor Ratio, Maximum Drawdown, Calmar Ratio, Burke Ratio, Correlation, Autocorrelation, Tracking Error, Shortfall Probability, Sortino Ratio, Omega, Hurst Index, Appraisal Ratio, Bear Beta, Bull Beta, Volatility, Value-at-Risk and dozens more figures. These figures are available on single position, subportfolio and overall portfolio level – via graphical user interface or via reports. Apart from portfolio key figures, our system offers an unequalled range of additional financial key figures.

Portfolio Management auf den Punkt gebracht

Klassisches Asset Management | Asset Risiko Management | Asset Management Strategien | Asset Management Hedging & Optimierung | Performance Messung | Performance Attribution & Contribution |  | Externes Meldewesen | Schnittstellen

 

Das Management von Portfolios mit Finanzinstrumenten unter Berücksichtigung von Performance-, Risiko- und Compliance-Aspekten, ob im Investment-, Kredit- oder Treasury-Bereich, ist ein zentrales Anliegen unterschiedlicher Marktteilnehmer der Finanzindustrie.

Arbeit und Ressourcen optimieren, Ziele erreichen

Übertreffen Sie die Benchmarks oder erzielen Sie einen überdurchschnittlichen Total Return. Egal, ob durch defensive Anlagestrategien oder gewagte Hedge Fonds Strukturen, Single- oder Multi-Asset Strategien, Top-Down- oder Bottom-Up Ansätze - PMS bietet die entscheidende quantitative Grundlage für Ihre aktiven und passiven Anlagestrategien.

Die im Gesamtsystem PMS integrierten Portfolio Management Module sind umfassend mit weiteren Modulen kombinierbar, beispielsweise mit Funktionalitäten aus dem PMS Risiko und Compliance Management, und bieten Ihnen daher unterschiedliche und weitreichende Möglichkeiten der Portfolioverwaltung.

Mit den PMS Portfolio Management Lösungen stehen Ihnen flexible hierarchische Portfoliostrukturierungen, taktische und strategische Asset Allokationen, Modell-Portfolios samt Abgleichsmöglichkeiten sowie Portfolio-übergreifende Geschäfte mit Global-Order Funktionalität zur Verfügung.

Bezüglich Limitsystemen bietet PMS Pre Trade und Post Trade Checks zur Prüfung von regulatorischen, vertraglichen und internen Anlagegrenzen. Hierbei werden im Fondsbereich Rechtsräume wie Deutschland (KAGB), Österreich (InvFG), Luxemburg (UCITS) usw. abgedeckt. Warnschwellen können definiert und aktive/passive Limitüberschreitungen differenziert werden. Im Pre Trade Check wird durch umfangreiche Aufzeichnungen großer Wert auf Revisionssicherheit gelegt.

Messung der Investment Performance nach GIPS, insbesondere somit Transaktions-basierte neben Bestands-basierter Performance, Zeit- und Geld-gewichtete Rendite, Ermittlung von Performancebeiträgen, Attributionsanalysen, Benchmarking mit Ergebnissen auf Positions- bis Portfolioebene ist neben klassischer Profit&Loss Analyse mit realisierten und unrealisierten Gewinnen/Verlusten großzügig ausgebaut in PMS. Performance Attribution steht für Aktien- und Rentenportfolien mit Derivaten nach Autoren wie Brinson, Fachler, Hood, Beebower, Campisi zur Verfügung, mit Selektions-, Allokations-, Währungs- und weiteren Effekten, nach arithmetischer und geometrischer aktiver Renditeberechnung.

Portfolio Optimierungen beginnend mit dem klassischen Markowitz-Ansatz mit einer darauf aufbauenden internen und externen Berichterstattung sind weitere (Teil-) Funktionalitäten des PMS Portfolio Managements.

Das Spektrum unterstützter Finanzinstrumente reicht von börsengehandelten plain-vanilla Instrumenten, illiquiden OTC Instrumenten, strukturierten Produkten, exotischen Derivaten über hybride Produkte bis hin zu Commodity Instrumenten und stellt damit einen klaren Wettbewerbsvorteil gegenüber vergleichbaren Systemen dar. Bewertungen können Mark-to-Market und Mark-to-Model erfolgen. Vielfältige grafische Darstellungen und standardisierte sowie kundenspezifisch anpassbare Reportingmöglichkeiten erleichtern Ihr Tagesgeschäft.

Das Softwaresystem PMS stellt alle in der Praxis weitläufig bekannten sowie zahlreiche exotische und innovative Portfolio Kennzahlen aus der Fachliteratur integriert zur Verfügung. Ziel ist eine verdichtete Aussage über Kapitalanlagen unter Risiko- und Renditegesichtspunkten. Die Kennzahlen lassen sich beispielsweise wie folgt gruppieren: Risiko-adjustierte Performancekennzahlen, Benchmarking, Kennzahlen aus Rendite-Verteilungen und Regressionsanalysen, Ex-Post versus Ex-Ante Kennzahlen, Downside Risiko und Drawdown Kennzahlen. Beispiele sind: Duration, Basis Point Value, Information Ratio, Treynor Ratio, Maximum Drawdown, Calmar Ratio, Burke Ratio, Correlation, Autocorrelation, Tracking Error, Shortfall Probability, Sortino Ratio, Omega, Hurst Index, Appraisal Ratio, Bear Beta, Bull Beta, Volatility, Value-at-Risk und Dutzende weiterer Kennzahlen. Die Kennzahlen sind jeweils auf Einzelpositionsebene sowie auf Subportfolio- und Gesamtportfolioebene über die grafische Benutzeroberfläche sowie via Reporting verfügbar. Neben Portfolio Kennzahlen steht ein seinesgleichen suchendes Spektrum an weiteren Kennzahlen im System zur Verfügung.